Pregnancy & Newborns Take its toll!

I’m so sorry I just neglected you again wordpress readers! But I never knew or could not have imagined how much energy pregnancy & having a newborn takes out of you. I could have had so much to say as well! But I also have my own set of issues (anxiety & depression) & its definitely been testing my will power.

My son, Braedyn, was born on September 20, 2014 at 2:03pm. He was 6 lbs 3 oz & 19 1/2 inches long. He was 2 weeks early than expected, but only considered 2 days premie. The reason for the early birth was ALL my fault. I had a doctors appointment on Sept. 18 & my doctor got me excited because I was, at that point, 2 centimeters. She told me, “…it won’t be long now, you’re walking funny.” I went home with the hopes that he would make his entrance into this world within those two weeks, & prayed that he wouldn’t hold out. Well, on friday morning, 5am, I woke up & ran to the toilet complete sick. After I upchucked, I was having chills & hot flashes back to back to back. I had a fever & my body was just burning up. So I decided to take a tylenol to reduce my fever a bit. It had worked & I felt fine around 9am. I even ate some breakfast. A friend had stopped by to hang out for a bit before checking into her hotel. When she left at noon, I thought to myself that maybe I just ate something bad the night before. Well,  I went to take a nap & the nausea & chills slowly came back. I was able to keep the food down, but I did not feel good at all. So I took another tylenol & passed out.

My husband came home at around 4pm to come & see if I was okay & take care of me. He made a basic sandwich in hopes that I could keep it down. I barely ate 4 bites & just felt terrible. At that point I felt like I was coming down with the flu. So I decided to go into the hospital to be safe than sorry. I thought that I would have been able to just ride it out, but I didn’t want anything happening to Braedyn. We got into the hospital at 6pm, & they had hooked me up to an IV because I was very dehydrated. They took a bunch of blood for tests & also administered the flu test. That was not fun! By 11pm they had figured out that it wasn’t the flu & they were worried that my water bag was infected. So they were going to induce me.

I freaked out. We were definitely not prepared to be having a baby that day. We just figured they would help me get better & send us on our way. I was hysterical & in tears, terrified for labor. My mom had rushed over with our bags & cameras & what not. & the bets started coming in. “Baby Braedyn would be here at 10am. 12:23pm. He can’t possibly hold out any longer!”

When he made his debut, I instantly fell in love. Who knew you could be so in love with a stranger. Love at first sight definitely exists, & it was proven that day. I held his tiny little body so close to mine, & I could not help but cry. I was so happy & he was so beautiful. My husband & I did it. We had created life. & it was such a beautiful experience.

It ended up being that I had contracted a blood infection, staph, which is very common in pregnancies. I was held in the hospital for 3 1/2 days & Braedyn was held for 5. Since then, we have been having so many learning experiences, but he is just a wonderful baby. He doesn’t really fuss or cry without a reason. He sleeps soooo good & everything is great. This new adventure has been amazing, both the ups & the downs. & I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for us.

IMG_0621 IMG_0912 IMG_0917

Leave a Reply

